The Always Brilliant, But Heartbreaking, Mr. Green.

I finally finished my John Green streak last weekish. I’m so mad at myself though. Seriously. I let a hat pick the order I read them in.

  1. The Fault in Our Stars
  2. Paper Towns
  3. An Abundance of Katherines
  4. Will Grayson, Will Grayson
  5. Looking for Alaska

So I have posts done on the other ones (not sure if I included Will Grayson, Will Grayson) but I broke the list before the last book to read The Hobbit as recommended by a friend (utter disappointment)… Finally decided to finish my John Green list.

Now let me explain something. TFiOS is intensely heartbreaking. Like sobbing at 2 am from chapters 18 to the end. Just builds it up and then drags it out to the end. Killed me.

The next three were pretty much happy-go-lucky. Some normal life drama. Whatever. Nothing insanely sad. So I start to feel a bit more comfortable right. Like Paper Towns I’m still on edge, An Abundance of Katherines I start to ease up a bit. By Will Grayson, Will Grayson I felt that guard drop. Like I knew the heartbreaking was over.

WRONG! WRONG! WRONG!

Looking for Alaska reaches out and pulls your still beating heart from your chest. Right in front of you. In a matter of seconds. It goes from completely and totally happy and amazing to what the actual fuck just happened in the matter of a page. Just one. ONE PAGE. That’s all the warning you get. One page to prepare yourself. NOT ENOUGH TIME.

I cried for a good hour. It was awful. Unexpected and just awful.

But god I loved it. His writing. I hate that I love it. I hate that I know I’m going to get hurt and I still dive in. I can’t stay away from him. As long as he writes, I’ll read. And cry. And die inside.

Leave a Reply

