Love Is…

I just finished Rob Sheffield’s Love is a Mix Tape the other day and wanted to add a few thoughts. First off I don’t know much about music. I know what I like based on what it makes me feel and what mood I’m in at the time. That’s about as far as my knowledge goes. Rob writes for music magazines, meaning he’s quite a bit more knowledgeable than I am. I was born in 1990, around the tail end (October), so I have some experience with cassette tapes. Which is what this book centers around. Life changing moments (some big, some small), cassette tapes, and the songs that went along with them.

Even without extensive knowledge about music, this was a highly enjoyable book. I love the way he writes. The way he says things. The way it comes across and plays through your mind. Without giving too much away, I want to add a few of my favorite quotes. Just so you can get a taste for it and hopefully grab this book next time you see it.

“Falling in love with Renee (I can’t add the ‘ because I’m weird) was not the kind of thing you walk away from in one piece. I had no chance.”

“It’s the same with people who say, ‘Whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.’ Even people who say this must realize that the exact opposite is true. What doesn’t kill you maims you, cripples you, leaves you weak, makes you whiny and full of yourself at the same time. The more pain, the more pompous you get. Whatever doesn’t kill you makes you incredibly annoying.” (So much truth in that statement.)

“The times you lived through, the people you shared those times with — nothing brings it all to life like an old mix tape. It does a better job of storing up memories than actual brain tissue can do. Every mix tape tells a story. Put them together, and they can add up to the story of a life.”  (this illustrates the importance of mix tapes that I was talking about earlier)

I could go on and on all day with the quotes. There are seriously so many great ones in this book.  I HIGHLY recommend you read it. At least once.

Leave a Reply

