What Exactly is A Dog’s Purpose?

* Will contain SPOILERS

I will be the first to tell you that I ABSOLUTELY DESPISE cats. I cannot stand them. I do not like them. I don’t care how cute and cuddly and adorable they are. I flat out hate them. I am a dog person. Through and through. From my flesh, to my blood, down to my very bones. If it were legal, I would adopt all the dogs. I have enough love for them all. I do have one dog though. She was a rescue. Abandoned at 6 months old. Someone took her in until they could find her a home, and that’s when she found her way to us. I ended up getting her after the divorce. In all honesty I would have fought nail, tooth, and blood for this dog. She has done more for me and been with me through more than any other human ever has in my entire 23 years of life. I was completely alone for three months, this dog, a radio, and cigarettes were all I had. I spent my 22nd birthday with her as my only party companion. I spent Halloween with her, though we didn’t get dressed up and I left my light off. On Thanksgiving, it was just us. As I sat there eating my turkey T.V. dinner, she was the only thing I was thankful for. Honestly without her, I probably would have given up on life altogether. It was a pretty dark time in my life and she was the only thing that kept me going. I owe my life to this dog. I will spend my whole life doing anything and everything I can for her.

So why am I spewing on and on about my dog? Because I love her so much, I decided to read some dog themed books. That’s when I ran across a book by W. Bruce Cameron, A Dog’s Purpose. It’s narrated by the dog. As if we’re reading the dog’s thoughts. I love that this is how he chose to tell the story. It adds so much more than if he had told it any other way. Throughout the story the dog is born and born again several times. Into different lives each time. In each life the dog (I want to avoid he and she generalizations because in the story it’s born as both) learns different lessons that ultimately add up the the final lesson. The lesson that teaches the dog exactly what it’s purpose here on Earth is. Some of the stories are sad, others are happy. You’ll be laughing, you’ll be crying… especially at the end… but all in all this is definitely a great read for dog lovers everywhere.

Leave a Reply

