What Kind Of Name Is That?

*Won’t contain any spoilers

As I continue trying to break out of my reading comfort zone, I find myself reading more and more books I would never have picked up on my own. Little Bee by Chris Cleave is definitely not a book I would have seen and picked up. But I’m glad that I did. Unfortunately the sleeve tells us readers not to tell you anything about the book because the magic is in how the story unfolds. And in a way, it is.

There are some mildly graphic parts in this book and some morally questionable activities. In the end this book will make you stop and think. A lot. Things aren’t always what they seem to be. Sometimes, they’re much darker. I can’t really tell you a whole lot about the book, but I do want to add one quote that gives a great example of what I mean.

““What is an adventure? That depends on where you are starting from. Little girls in your country, they hide in the gap between the washing machine and the refrigerator and they make believe they are in the jungle, with green snakes and monkeys all around them. Me and my sister, we used to hide in a gap in the jungle, with green snakes and monkeys all around us, and make believe that we had a washing machine and a refrigerator. You live in a world of machines and you dream off things with beating hearts. We dream of machines, because we see where beating hearts have left us.”
― Chris Cleave

If that doesn’t pique your curiosity, I don’t know what will. I definitely recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

