National Infertility Awareness Week

Starts today! 1 in 8 couples face infertility. Male factor, female factor, and unexplained. I am 1 in 8. Even if I wasn’t 1 in 8, I would still want to raise awareness.

More often than not its assumed that all women can conceive. I remember when I told everyone my boyfriend was going to be moving here to be with me. Everyone, including people who were told previously that I couldn’t have children, began asking if I was pregnant. Anytime I mention that I’m ill or not feeling well the first thing people jump to is I must be pregnant. Infertility really is one of those things that just isn’t in the back of people’s minds. People don’t think about it until it affects them. I know I didn’t. Even now, after four years, I still have a hard time wrapping my head around the fact that I am infertile.

My brother just brought up a really good question. What will raising awareness do? First of all there is the personal side. Raising awareness will hopefully help others see it from our point of view. Maybe even do some research into infertility. It will help others become a little more sensitive to what we’re facing. Also there is the political standpoint. Most insurance companies will cover your choice to not have children when you have the choice to make, but not your choice to have a child when you have no choice. I know plenty of people who don’t have the money to have children, yet when they fall pregnant State assistance is there to cover the cost. Why should they have coverage, but we shouldn’t? We have absolutely zero choice in our reproductive matters. Infertility is a disease, not a choice.

This is my first year actively participating in raising awareness. I know, I know. Why did it take me four years… I’ve been so caught up in my own life and my own emotions. I didn’t even really come out about my infertility until I started this blog. Now that I have a social platform where literally millions of people can see what I post daily, I feel like I have more of a standing in raising awareness.

To find out how you can raise awareness, head over to resolve.org

Speaking of Resolve, I’m thinking of becoming an advocate this year. They give you all the information you need on their page. I definitely want to become more involved in the IF community. I’ll post more about my involvement as I go. But for now I need to do some research of my own. This year I resolve to know more. Do you?

Leave a Reply

