Mother’s Day

By far the hardest day for me every single year. The day when everyone posts the same status. “Happy Mother’s Day to all the wonderful moms and soon to be moms. Hope you have the best of days.” We all know it. We’ve all seen it. Newsfeeds are flooded with the same generic messages. Shout outs to their moms, shout outs to moms they know, shout outs to expectant mothers. There is always a group of mothers that gets overlooked. Women who are only mothers in their hearts. Women who for no lack of want or trying, still aren’t mothers yet, and women who are mothers to angel babies. Why are we left out? This is not a holiday that is just for women who have children of their own.

Women, like myself, who struggle with infertility…we’re constantly overlooked. We may not physically have our babies yet, but in our hearts we’re already mothers. Just because my body refuses to allow it to happen, thats not a choice that I made. I made the choice to be a mother. My choice was taken from me.

Women who have lost their children. They deserve a Mother’s Day as well. I don’t think anyone can fully grasp the thought of losing a child. No matter what age. 6 weeks pregnant, 34 weeks pregnant, 2 months old, 2 years old, 10 years old, 26 years old. I don’t care. You are still a mother. I see you.

Women who are only step-mothers. Even if the step-kiddos don’t appreciate you. I see you. I appreciate what you are doing. You have stepped up to the plate and accepted a man and his past. Sometimes it isn’t easy knowing that your love has a past and it isn’t always easy accepting another woman’s children. But you have and you love them like they were your own.

also, because I feel like they deserve twice the attention. Men who step up and play the role of mom as well. Whether you are on your own, or you have a partner. I see you. Doing twice the work. Struggling to make it. Being looked down upon. I see you. I appreciate you and everything you do.

Mother’s Day isn’t just for women who have children of their own. Mother’s Day is for anyone who has a child of their own, who is a step-mother, who is only a mother in their heart, and for anyone who has had to say goodbye to their child. I see you all. I’m keeping each and every one of you in my heart and my thoughts today.

One thought on “Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

