Something That Bothers Me

Okay, well there are a lot of somethings that bother me. This something deals with parenting. Whoa, whoa…settle down. I’m not about to attack any specific type of parenting… But I don’t know how to say this without offending at least 1 person. I would like to take a moment (resisting the urge to sing the Fresh Prince theme song..) to say that this is my opinion and my view on it. My circumstances are different than yours. Obviously. Everything that has happened in my life has led me to form this opinion. You don’t have to agree. I won’t force you to or try to change your mind. With that being said, it really bothers me when women call being a stay at home mom “work”. It’s hard work, this is a job. Things like that.

Now I don’t have a kiddo of my own (don’t throw it in my face either on this one, because I made the choice to be a mother. That choice was taken from me.) but I have always have my little sister. At least 90% of the time. All of her life it’s been that way. Except the two years when I was in Florida. She would still call me up “Hey, I don’t feel good… you should come home. Mom isn’t doing it right.” And trust me if I could have been on the next plane out, I would have been. So I know what it’s like to take care of a newborn, toddler, child, preteen on top of everything you have to get done in your day. Shoot, I still get up with her in the middle of the night if she’s sick or can’t sleep. So I know all about that part of it as well. I’ve had every kind of bodily fluid/secretion on me. I’ve tried to clean with the toynado trailing along behind me. Early mornings, late nights. The scares.

Back to my original point. It bothers me so much when women equate being a stay at home mom to a job. “Job” and “work” make it sound like an unpleasant thing only done out of necessity. Maybe it’s because I want more than anything to be a mother and I may never get the chance, that I look at it differently. I don’t know. But I will never equate being a mother to a job or work. I get that it isn’t easy. I do. Dear lord, I do. I’m having some trouble figuring it out for myself. In my updates post I talk about how I have to balance cleaning, cooking, meal planning and shopping, keeping the kiddo active and entertained, finding time for my relationship, and doing all my work at home stuff. Not to mention we’ll have about 14 people in the house for a week. That adds a new challenge, more cleaning and cooking and trying to figure out a cheap meal plan that will feed us all.. I get that it isn’t easy. But the only part of my day that I would ever call work or a job, is my work at home stuff. That is the only job I have. The rest may not always be pleasant, and it may stress me out… but I love doing it more than I don’t love doing it. Even on super hard and stressful days. That’s just the way I see it.

Leave a Reply

