Doctor Who: The Crawling Terror

FTC Disclaimer: I received this book for free for the purpose of this review. This will not sway my review in any way, shape, or form. All opinions stated are completely my own.

So… I’ve been putting this review off for a long time. Mainly because I’m sad to be writing this. I’m a HUGE Doctor Who fan. I was beyond ecstatic to see this book offered on Blogging for Books. That’s why I instantly signed up for it. They do use Capaldi and Coleman on the cover, so you know this is going to be a story involved 12 and Clara. Basically the premise of the book is they land in the middle of a town with a strange bug issue (hence the title The Crawling Terror)…but there’s more to the story than just that. I don’t want to give anything away. Can the Doctor save the day? (Bit of a spoiler: He always does. If you watch the show you know this.)

Anyways. Now that part that makes me sad. There is a huge military presence in this story. If you’re a Whovian you know how much the Doctor dislikes weapons. Apparently he condones the use of them in this book. In fact he pretty much asks for it. Which isn’t very Doctor like. In the end I didn’t feel like the Doctor played a very big role in this story. It felt more like a sci-fi adventure and the Doctor just kind of happened to be there. If that makes sense. Either way I doubt I’ll be checking out any of the other books in this line. This one just kind of turned me off from it all. I’ll stick to the show.

Leave a Reply

